Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Platinum is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 10 reviews, with an average score of 4.5 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (72)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-12 14:32:56

Carter is known to be a good and eithical attorney.

— Peer 06/12/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-10 14:43:24

No description provided

— Peer 06/10/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-07 16:05:25

No description provided

— Peer 06/07/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-04 13:13:09

I've witnessed first hand Carter's interaction with clients, opposing counsel and judges and have always found him knowledgable and respectful in all settings. In addition, I've witnessed Carter's dedication to the state and local bar associations and his eagerness to participate in community and pro-bono activies and services.

— Peer 06/04/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-05-28 08:27:28

No description provided

— Peer 05/28/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-05-27 14:39:52

Attorney Massengill has an excellent working relationship with the local judges and bar association.

— Peer 05/27/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-05-25 07:52:48

No description provided

— Peer 05/25/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-06 12:32:54

This attorney is one of best lawyers in our community it is a pleasure to have him appear before me

— Peer 04/06/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-01 01:55:19

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-24 19:11:49

Myers is a great attorney with the highest score of ethical standards very knowledgeable in area of practice. Cares deeply about his clients

— Peer 03/24/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-23 01:35:41

No description provided

— Peer 03/23/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-19 16:04:07

No description provided

— Peer 03/19/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-14 10:39:39

I worked with Myers for several years on a difficult product liability case, among other matters, and was very impressed with his character and competence.

— Peer 03/14/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-06 09:53:26

No description provided

— Peer 03/06/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-05 12:10:19

Myers is an excellent advocate for his clients and maintains an outstanding professional standard. He is a pleasure to work with!

— Peer 03/05/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-26 10:55:49

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-26 10:10:07

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-26 09:15:39

Excellent attorney. I had the pleasure of working with Myers on personal injury case. He is a tremendous attorney, and would welcome the opportunity of working with him again.

— Peer 02/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-26 09:12:40

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-26 06:50:53

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2010-02-09 12:04:07

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2010

4.8 / 5.0
2013-06-06 14:32:33

No description provided

— Peer 06/06/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2013-06-03 09:56:29

No description provided

— Peer 06/03/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2013-03-25 01:26:27

An excellent attorney, with the highest ethical and professional standards.

— Peer 03/25/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2013-03-25 00:51:30

Mr. Massengill is a very good lawyer and represents his clients well. He consistently volunteers for probond. He is more knowledgeable than the average lawyerwith the same years of practice.

— Peer 03/25/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2013-02-26 06:52:10

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2010-02-09 12:12:54

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2010

4.6 / 5.0
2013-05-29 16:18:26

No description provided

— Peer 05/29/2013

4.6 / 5.0
2010-02-19 08:05:29

No description provided

— Peer 02/19/2010

4.6 / 5.0
2010-02-09 10:17:28

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2010

4.4 / 5.0
2013-03-24 20:19:54

No description provided

— Peer 03/24/2013

4.4 / 5.0
2013-02-26 16:28:30

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

4.4 / 5.0
2013-02-26 09:22:27

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

4.4 / 5.0
2013-02-26 08:35:59

No description provided

— Peer 02/26/2013

4.4 / 5.0
2010-01-27 11:33:37

No description provided

— Peer 01/27/2010

4.2 / 5.0
2013-05-27 08:07:25

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2013

4.2 / 5.0
2010-02-22 11:38:20

No description provided

— Peer 02/22/2010

4.0 / 5.0
2013-05-28 09:52:29

No description provided

— Peer 05/28/2013

4.0 / 5.0
2013-03-24 22:01:01

No description provided

— Peer 03/24/2013

4.0 / 5.0
2012-08-17 09:54:05

No description provided

— Peer 08/17/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2010-01-27 11:34:55

No description provided

— Peer 01/27/2010

4.0 / 5.0
2010-01-11 18:19:28

Carter is an excellent attorney who practices law with the highest of ethics and always engages his opponent with a spirited presentation. I consider it an honor to practice law with attorneys of Carter's professional caliber.

— Peer 01/11/2010

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-13

Effectively and methodically tackled a Modification of Child Support Petition on very short notice. Attorney Meyers Massengill is an outstanding professional and I commend his entire law firm for its quick response and turnaround regarding my case. I highly recommend this law firm. Mr. Massengill responded timely to all my questions and was extremely tactical in his handling of my case.

— Client 07/13/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-12-27

THIMC... Mr. Massengill proved to be well worth the investment in my time and resources to resolve an estate issue which developed that I hadn’t been made aware of until an issue regarding local taxes was addressed. His representation was, in my opinion, Invaluable at reaolving the issue in a timely and through manner and to the highest degree of professionalism. I highly recommend him to anyone seeking legal counsel.

— Client 12/27/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-20

Very pleased with our dealings and having Mr. Coughlin represent both myself and wife to be throughout our car accident issues. Professional, friendly and timely within every aspect from start to finish. I would highly recommend! 11/10.

— Client 11/20/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-02

I recently had a legal matter and needed an attorney. I retained a lawyer at Massengill,Caldwell, and Coughlin, PC. I found the advise given and representation to be expedient and honest.

— Client 11/02/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-10-14

Mr. Massengill was informative, knowledgeable and thorough throughout the process. I would highly recommend him.

— Client 10/14/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-10-14

Dan Coughlin was so helpful in finally resolving a long-standing lawsuit. He is very personable and dedicated to providing excellent legal assistance that served our needs and interests so well. Communications were always prompt and thorough, and he even traveled to meet personally on-site with some experts and witnesses. We're very grateful for his professionalism and caring approach to our problem.

— Client 10/14/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-24

March 2nd has been there for me as long as I can remember I ran from the police for 18 years before I had nerve to turn myself in I had Myers to handle my legal problems, divorce, and workers comp. Claim.. always , he gave me what I needed when I was up against problems bigger than I could handle. I would advise anyone to have him as an attorney, he always delivered and on time. Today I consider him a great friend , and my attorney. He will be the same for you. Give him a call he will be there.!

— Client 04/24/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-04

I obtained Mr.Myers Massengill II to represent me on my disability case. It was unique case , I feel. He did his due diligence and an excellent job. It is with joy, I give to him a high recommendation. Professional, down to earth, and his secretary, Pam, was great to. Thank you! Larry and Andrea Phillips

— Client 03/04/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-05

If you want an outstanding attorney that will get the job done quickly and efficiently this is the one to hire.

— Client 02/05/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-15

No description provided

— Client 01/15/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-07

Carter is a stand up Lawyer. From the first meeting I had with him he told me my options and what was to be expected. Couldn’t have asked for a better Lawyer.

— Client 01/07/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-04

Myers Jr handled my personal injury claim. I had a very tough time with a complex case due to 3 insurance companies all passing the blame to each other. Within a few weeks Myers was able to settle my case out of court for an amount I was happy with.

— Client 01/04/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-03

Always open to talk

— Client 01/03/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-02

Dan Coughlin is very thorough & competent. He took time to make sure I understood the issues utilizing ways easy to comprehend without being patronizing or condescending. His client's best interest are in his mind & heart. You are his main focus when talking with him. His demeanor is very calm and has been a blessing. One of the true testaments of his character is his ability to hold all matters confidential. He is a man of his word & provides outstanding customer service. HIGHLY Recommend

— Client 10/02/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-08

He was very professional and listened to my complicated health issues. Him and his staff moved quickly to get my claim approved much sooner than I expected

— Client 08/08/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-30

No description provided

— Client 03/30/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-11

I came to Mr. Massengill II to get legal custody of my grandchildren. They were in a bad situation and with his help, I became their legal guardian. Mr. Massengill II was easy to talk to and had concern about my grandchildren. That helped me know that I had chosen the right attorney. I could not have asked for a better attorney. The concern, thoughtfulness, and speed of getting this done was amazing. Hats off to you sir! You're the best!! I recommend him highly! Vickie Burke

— Client 01/11/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2017-11-14

Only good things to say about this firm and in particular Mr. Myers Massengill II. Myers has been my legal representation twice in the past few years and has done an outstanding job on both occasions. He is thorough, efficient, very competent, personable, and always advised me according to what was in my best interest. The administrative staff is also very friendly, helpful, and perform their duties well. This firm will be my first call should I need legal assistance in the future.

— Client 11/14/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-12

Carter Massengill was outstanding in handling my disability case. I couldn't ask for more from an attorney. I highly recommend him with no hesitation or reservations whatsoever.

— Client 06/12/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-23

Myers Massengill II is very professional and prompt . He kept me abreast of my case from the very beginning . The staff is very polite and courteous, putting the client at ease upon each visit or call. I would definately use this firm and Myers again if needed. I highly recommend Myers and will refer others in the future.

— Client 05/23/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-27

Mr. Coughlin is an excellent attorney. Thanks to his hard work and sharp legal skills he was able to settle a legal matter in which I was both a plaintiff and a defendant against Wellmont Health Systems. The settlement of the claim and counter-claim gave me everything I had hoped to get. Mr. Coughlin is an attorney of great integrity and his services are very reasonably priced. He is also a voice of reason when my tensions were running high. I could not be more pleased with his legal services.

— Client 04/27/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-02-23

Most professional and understanding staff to communicate with throughout the long process . Question and answers had been explained in a polite and understanding approach ! Extremely informative at every stage of the process!

— Client 02/23/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2015-10-13

He helped me to recover some of the money that I lost to a greedy skunk. It took three long and stressful years, but through it all, he was always helpful and courteous even when I may have been getting on his nerves. He is exceptionally intelligent and competent in his practice of law, and I have full confidence in him in every aspect of what a lawyer ought to be able to do.

— Client 10/13/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2014-09-08

Myers was readily available to address any questions or concerns. Very professional and also very friendly. Charges were appropriate. His office staff was also very professional and helpful.

— Client 09/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-01

My experience with Carter has been wonderful. He is a caring individual, very easy to talk to, yet professional & efficient. He kept me well informed throughout the entire process & gave me the piece of mind that my case was being handled in the best possible manner. I would have no problem highly recommending him for his services. He did a fantastic job.

— Client 08/01/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-21

Throughout my two years working with Mr. Massengill, I was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy. My phone calls were promptly returned and even though I am sure he had a very full caseload, I was extremely impressed with how much of what we discussed at each visit that he remembered at all subsequent visits. I would highly recommend Mr. Massengill and if the need were to arise, I would use him again for any and all legal matters.

— Client 06/21/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-04

Mr. Coughlin also represented me along with Mr. Massengill when a drunk driver hit me from behind in an automobile accident.

— Client 04/04/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-04

I was hit from behind by someone in an automobile and nearly killed. Mr. Massengill represented me in a suit against the person that ran me over.

— Client 04/04/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2019-01-04

Myers did an excellent job of keeping me informed without breaking protocol. He clearly laid out my options before, during, and after court as well as I could expect. I won my case for primary custody, and as a father, that can be quite difficult.

— Client 01/04/2019

4.5 / 5.0
2019-01-07

Very nice and communicated well, honest and dependable.

— Client 01/07/2019